Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that extinction of mammals in Kaliko islands is due to climate change or environmental factors and not because of humans presence at that time. His assertion is based on evidence that humans had no contact with mammals and archaeologists have not found any proof indicating the role of human beings. However, the author's conclusion relies on three unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author presumes that lack of proof regarding no human contact with large mammals actually indicate that in reality this was the case. It is possible that the scientific methods that are currently being adopted by the archaeologists is inadequate for establishing a proof that humans had contact with these mammals. Even if we assume that these tools are indeed adequate, Perhaps the archaeologists are just looking at wrong places in the island. Maybe they have done some error in their findings and analysis and thus may have reached a wrong conclusion that humans had no contact withe these mammals. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author's argument that humans had no contact with other mammals in kaliko islands may not hold water.

Second of all, the author assumes that in future archaeologists will find no sites which may contain bones of large mammals. Perhaps the archaeologists have just begun to collect for evidences and thus far they have only been able to find sites containing fish bones. If given more time, they may be able to find locations of mammal bones as well. Maybe the remains of these large mammals are present inside dense forests where they usually lived and finding ruins in such a difficult terrain and environment is not that easy. Perhaps they may have found the fish bones by riverside which was easily accessible to the archaeologists. If this is the case, then the authors assertion that humans may not have hunted mammals is significantly weakened.

Third of all, the author presumes that the only alternate cause for the extinction of large mammals apart from humans is climate change or environment factors. Even if we assume that humans were not responsible for the extinction of these large mammals, many other potential reasons may explain this. Maybe the large mammals suffered from a disease outbreak and perished. Perhaps the extinction of these mammals was caused by some other carnivorous species that might have arrived during that timeline and hunted them. In these scenarios, the authors argument that the extinction of these mammals was due to climatic factors does not hold.

In conclusion, the author will need to answer the above three questions, so that validity of his argument that environment factors are the cause for extinction of large mammals in Kaliko islands can be further evaluated.