The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

The author concludes that the video game sales of Whirlwind will increase significantly in near future. His assertion is based on the responses of a survey in which people mentioned their desirable features in a video games, and whirlwind's video games satisfied those. However, his conclusion is based on three unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author presumes that the survey is representative of their potential customers. It is possible that the survey was conducted among only few people, and the results of these may not be interpolated to millions of video game players. Perhaps the survey was conducted among few professional gamers, which may not be indicative of their vast majority of customers, who might actually be amateur players. Even if we assume that the survey also included amateur players , the author presumes that the responses from a survey can be taken at their face value. Perhaps the people just mentioned the latest 'cool' feature that is currently trending, and maybe they have no interest in it. If either of these scenarios is true, then the authors argument that survey responses will lead to increase in sales may not hold water.

Second of all, the author assumes that people who like life like graphics in their video games will actually purchase it. It is possible that very few video game players have the money to have computer setups which are capable of running such high level graphics. If this is the case, even if the gamers have the means to buy their games, they may not have the setup required to run those games. If this is the scenario, many people may not buy those games and the author's conclusion that the sales of the company will increase is significantly weakened.

Third of all, the author presumes that extensive advertising campaigns will lead to increase in sales. Maybe many of their potential customers already know about their video games, but are not interested in purchasing it. Perhaps there is some other company in the market which cater to similar needs, and their games are even better. If this is the case, customers might be reluctant to shift to Whirlwind's video games, when they are already happy with other video games that are currently out in market. Thus advertising may not actually lead to any new customers and the author's argument may not hold.

In conclusion, the author should provide evidence to the above mentioned three assumption, so that the validity of his argument that the sales of video games created by Whirlwind will increase in a few months can be evaluated.