The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

In a memo, the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock concludes that they can increase their margins by stopping their endure manufacturing process which is used in making their socks. His assertion is based on the frequency at which their customers buy their socks and also from the responses of a survey. However, his argument relies on several unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. The author needs to provide evidences for the following three points.

First of all, the author needs to provide evidence regarding the inference they have drawn from buying trends of their customers. It is possible that many of their existing customers are buying Dura-Socks every three months not because they have discarded their old socks, but maybe because they are using the new ones along with their old socks. Perhaps they like the quality of the product so much that they are using these socks for a variety of occasions, thus making them buy more frequently. Further it is also possible that many of their customers buy single pair of socks at a time instead of buying in bulk at once, as the socks may be easily available round the year. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author's assertion that people don't wear socks for more than three months may not hold.

Second of all, the author needs to provide evidence concerning the survey, that if it is representative of their vast majority of customers. It is possible that even though the survey was conducted in their largest market, it only had responses from few people, and this may not be interpolated to large number of their customers. Perhaps the vast majority of people it surveyed consisted of youngsters from colleges, who are not bothered with the quality of socks as long as it stayed cheap. But if their large customer base consists of working professionals, then their preferences may not be same as those surveyed, and they may instead prefer socks that are more durable. Thus the survey may be incomplete in capturing people's choices regarding socks, and the author's argument that their customers don't care about durability may be misleading.

Third of all, the author needs to give evidence regarding priorities of its customers. It is possible that style and colors may not be the sole reason of why people purchase their socks. Perhaps the reason for buying their products is the combination of both factors, durability and their look. Maybe many other companies also produce socks which too are stylistic, but perhaps the main reason why their customers are loyal to them and are reluctant to shift to other alternatives is maybe because of the durability that Dura Socks provide. If this scenario is true, then they may lose many of their existing customers, and thus the author's argument that compromising on their quality may increase their profit margins may not hold water.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide evidences regarding the above three points that are raised, so as to further evaluate the validity of his argument that their profit margins will increase by discontinuing endure manufacturing process.