Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza

In a letter to the editor, the author concludes that a ban on skateboarding in central plaza should be lifted. In order to support his assertion, the author provides the example of monroe park where skateboarding is allowed, but no problem with litter and vandalism is faced. However, while the conclusion might hold water, it relies on several unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. The author needs to address the following three questions.

First of all, will skateboarders who may come to central plaza behave in a similar manner like the skateboarders in monroe park? It is possible that people who go to monroe park for skateboarding behave in a more civilised manner compared to the people who may visit for for skateboarding in central plaza. Perhaps the same bunch of skateboarders who created ruckus and caused litter two years back might come back. Perhaps monroe park is located at a place that is nearer to office complexes and business centres and thus cater to older people who are less susceptible of causing vandalism and litter, and central plaza might be located near a local college or high school with lots of kids who are more prone to disturbing and creating a ruckus. If either of the above scenario is true, then the vandalism and littering in central plaza may increase, which may further decrease the little growth it has witnessed in the last two years. Thus, the author's conclusion may not hold water.

Second of all, will allowing skateboarding in central plaza increase the number of visitors? Even if we assume that skateboarders will not create any vandalism or littering, people might still not prefer to come to central plaza. Perhaps number of visitors have not increased by much because of lack of activities to do. Maybe the variety of options available for shopping or eating or some other fun activities is limited and may not cater to people's needs. If this is the case, even after assuming that skateboarders will cause zero disturbance, allowing skateboarders may not have any affect at all in increasing the footfall in central plaza might. Thus the author's claim to restore central plaza's glory may not hold.

Third of all, is skateboarding the main reason why people visit monroe park? It is possible that people visit monroe park not because it permits skateboarding, but because it is much cleaner and no vandalism is present. Perhaps, people might just want to enjoy their evenings at a place which provides a nice ambience to hang out with their friends. Perhaps reintroducing skateboarding at central plaza might not create any affect at all. It is possible that new visitors are reluctant to go to central plaza because of its lack of cleanliness and fear of getting vandalised. Thus, the main focus for restoring glory of central plaza may lie in focusing on improving the existing conditions in central plaza. Thus the author's argument of bringing back central plaza's glory may not hold by reintroducing skating.