Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I feel that government should place few restrictions only in some fields of science and research especially in the fields of defence , gene technology and nuclear physics and it should not place any restrictions in any other fields of math and science. Fields mentioned above have the power of causing a great threat to humanity. On the contrary, several fields like renewable energy, space technology have the potential to save our planet and even provide an alternate habitat for our species.

Say for example, Safety is such a paramount aspect in the field of gene technology and virology, if the labs are not handled at high level safety standards, there will be a risk of a viral outbreak causing a pandemic like the corona virus. Also fields like nuclear physics should be restricted and monitored upon, though it can be used for a good cause like a clean nuclear energy for electricity, however there is always a risk of creating weapons of mass destruction.

On the other hand, I feel in fields like solar energy/wind energy, should not make any restrictions, as improvement in the efficiency of solar cells and wind turbines is what we require currently in the times of highest pollution levels. In fact if possible, more subsidies and fundings should be provided by government for such research areas.

Similarly, space technology should be completely open without any restrictions as advancements in space technology can provide us the opportunity of inter planet travel , which in the worst case scenario, if something happens to the earth, is our only option for survival.

To conclude, I feel that restrictions should only be on specific fields which can pose a huge threat to the survival of humans if not monitored properly, and other fields should be completely free without any restrictions.