The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The prompt states that a greatness of a country is determined by the welfare of its people in general, and not based on select leaders, artists or scientists. I mostly agree with it and in fact a country can be termed as great if a vast majority of people residing in it are happy. This happiness can be measured based on a combination of several parameters and metrics such as GDP per capita, purchasing power of people, access to education and healthcare etc. However, in very few cases, achievements and laurels of a select few may help to accelerate the growth of the country.

To begin, The lives of vast majority of people living in a country should dictate whether a country is doing good or not. The most important metric that we can use to check the welfare of people in our country is GDP(Gross Domestic Process) per capita and the purchasing power that it gives. The first metric may help us know on an average how much each person is able to earn, and the second metric will provide us information about how much and what all things is a person able to buy with his/her earnings. In order to live a happy life, people in that country should be able to afford basic necessities like food, clothes and access to shelter, and the above two metrics gives us a pretty good idea about that. The welfare of the people in our country should not be based on emotions and perceptions of few people, but it should actually be translated in reality for a vast majority of people. A select few people having a feeling that our country is great is not sufficient, and it should be based on concrete data.

Moreover, In order to ensure welfare of the citizens, another important factor is for them to be able to live a life without any stress. This is only possible if people are able to afford for their kids education, if they are able to afford to go to hospitals for health checkups and if they are able to find jobs to sustain themselves. In order for us to assess about these things, first we should have an unbiased data across all over the country regarding healthcare infrastructures, schools, and the employment rate in our country. Thus a country that is able to provide all of these facilities to their citizens may be termed as a great nation, as citizens having access can lead a life without any worries and stress. Thus another indicator to determine whether a nation is great or not is its accessibility to health care, education infrastructure and job opportunities.

However, in few cases, a certain person or a select organisation's achievements can help to really accelerate the growth of a nation, and put them in a path towards greatness. For instance, say if a country's science and research unit is able to produce hybrid seeds which increase the yield of crops, then this may be extremely important for removing hunger in the country. Thus, just with a contribution of few select scientists and organisations, a country can remove hunger among all its populations.

In conclusion, I feel that the indicator for the country's greatness should be based on the lives of common people living in it, based on several aspects mentioned above, and not on a select few people's accomplishments. However, in few cases the achievements of these select few people might help the country to reach this greatness quickly, but in itself is not a great indicator in general.