ff

Education we recieve in our schools shapes us and plays a huge role in achieving our long term goals both personally and professionally. I mostly agree with the recommendation that all schools should follow a common curriculum till they enter college. However, In vast and diverse countries say for example India, certain subject topics relevant to that particular region and state should also be included for those students. The below two examples show why it's so important to have a standard curriculum for students till the time they enter college.

Firstly, the advantage of having a common curriculum for all ensures quality and standard of education. This is because this recommendation will lead to every student learning from same textbooks and course materials. The advantage of this is that it is very pragmatic for a nation to achieve good quality textbooks and other resources, if they have to create a common material for all. This can be done by the partnership of government forming top level committee and also include top level private institutions and educators as board members.

Secondly, if all students study the same courses and are assessed on the same tests and metrics, it provides a level playing field for them when they apply for college admissions. If the recommendation is adopted, college entrance tests will not be biased against students of a particular curriculum. It will reduce the burden on students studying from multiple textbooks, one for their high school examination and other for cracking college entrance examination.