The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie production company in his memo recommends that they should allocate a greater budget next year for advertising as he concludes that the movies they produce are of good quality but people are not aware of their movies. He comes to this conclusion by stating that there was an increase in percentage of positive reviews for their movies last year. However this is seriously flawed argument as it assumes a lot of points which are not addressed.

Firstly, It is possible that the number of reviews they recieved last year was very less compared to the reviews they recieved in previous years. Maybe they changed the mechanism through which they collect their reviews. It is possible that earlier people could review it online through a website or a mobile application, and this time they changed it to offline mode thus receiving very few reviews. Maybe this time they only recieved 50 reviews compared to the hundreds of reviews they recieve each year.

Hence this data may be skewed and biased and may not be comparable with previous years data. Moreover it may be possible that their performance bonus was dependent on better reviews and thus they asked their family and friends to fill in the reviews and give maximum ratings.

Secondly, It is possible that last year was just an anamoly. Maybe many of their rival production companies also faced a decline in footfall and this may have nothing to do with the lack of awareness or the quality of their movies. Maybe, In the cities where these movies are premiered, people are going through a recession. Many people might have faced salary cuts or job losses, thus making them unable to spend on things such as movies. And this is reflected across all the other movies also and not just their movies.

Thirdly, It is possible that last year was a sports heavy season . Maybe the places where these movies are aired, hosted many other sports events like football and the people preferred that compared to movies