The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza.

"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that the city council of Plaza should remove its ban on skateboarding so as to return Central Plaza to its previous glory is not complete. There are gaps in the logic that render it unconvincing. The following essay will expose these flaws and demonstrate how the argument could be made more cogent.

First, it appears a lot to expect that after just restraining the use of skateboard in the plaza, the city must witness a remarkable rise in the number of visitors to Central Plaza. Perchance the city still suffers gravely from other serious problems such as low level of public safety or high criminal rate in the downtown which just neutralise the approved law by the city council on banning skateboarding. If the writer had shown that other aspects of the Central Plaza are perfectly fine when it comes to attracting potential tourists, the argument could have been strengthed.

Moreover, the argument unfairly presupposes that since there is no issue with garbage and vandalism in Monroe Park, where skateboarding is allowed, then the plaza should get rid of its ban on skateboarding to restore Central Plaza to its former glory. Perhaps those in charge of Monroe Park have taken other steps just than permitting skateboarding in order to resolve litter and vandalism problems. It is entirely possible that they may have employed more workers responsible for keeping the park constantly clean with the result that the problem with litter is highly mitigated. In this regard, the line of reasoning would become stronger, if the author had provided more information on

whether other possible measures were adopted by Monroe's authorities simultaneous with allowing skateboarding there so as to curb the problems with rubbish or vandalism considerably or not.

To summarise, the argument is not wholly sensible. The evidence in support of the recommendation that the city council of Plaza should lift its prohibition on skateboarding so as to return Central Plaza to its former ideal condition does little to substantiate that suggestion, since it does not address the suppositions already brought up.