Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The subject of choosing a field of study by college students seems to have polarised those who are fascinated to voice their take on it. On the one hand, some support the opinion that students ought to concentrate merely on their own talents and interests. On the other hand, it could be argued that they should base their choice upon the accessibility of careers in a field. My position is rather closer to the latter, and the following essay will delve into economic as well as mental aspects of the issue at hand.

When it comes to deciding which field of study to choose as a university student, since the ultimate goal of most, if not all, college graduates is to be capable of providing themselves with a suitable and lucrative career in the job market, the financial aspect of that field of study in terms of the number of jobs it can supply the graduate with is of considerable significance. Such importance is particularly noticed in today's economic climate in which a great deal of university graduates are unable to earn sufficient amount of money through their passed field of study. As a matter of fact, it seems that with today's global trend in technology, some university majors such as literature do not

appear to be reasonable choices when one scrutanises their professional capacities. In short, due to the fact that the majority of today's college students would have to make

a living in the foreseeable future one way or another, paying attention to how occupations are available and abundant in a field of study should be prioritised over other factors like the students' personal interests as I see.

What is more, the complicated and negative mental ramifications of being unemployed after finishing your course of study at a uniersity also call for being highly attentive to the financial aspect of the probem which is the capacity of university majors in creating career prospects for their graduates. When we talk about unemployment, it is not just one single problem. Conversely, it could be the cause of other grave issues like high rate of divorces, having the feeling of a useless person, drugs or alcohol misuse and so on. Hence, for university graduates who do not want to experience such problems inherent to the unemployment issue, it would a better idea to minimise the possibility of such damaging troubles by sensibly choosing their field of study in the first place, and by putting the availability of jobs in that major on the top of their agenda.

On balance, I feel that although elements such as students' talents and interests are significant in choosing a field of study, given the graduates' legitimate need for being financially independent individuals, the economic aspect of the current situation would seem to be much more important.