Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Nowadays, there is a heated discussion on whether university students should only consider their own talents when choosing major, or they should also consider the job market of that major. In my opinion, the latter view aligns more with my perspective.

Firstly, we have to admit that the talents and interests really count in determining if the student can gain success in one specific field. For example, Yuzuru Hanyu was very talented in figure skating, and he put all his love in it. With his pure passion in figure skating, he managed to win two consequtive olypmic gold medals. Though figure skating is not a very hot sport and it doesn't have a large market, Yuzuru still earned a lot of money with his special talent and contribution to the figure skating. Similarly, great scientists like Newton are very talented and passionate in their own fields. These indicate the importance of interests and talents when choosing a major.

However, not all people are such successful like them. For most people, choosing major is just about getting a job for living, and this actually doesn't require much special talents. For example, computer science, finance and medicine are some highly paid fields nowadays. Though these fields contain very high technology, actually more than 80% of workers in these fields do repetitive jobs without much technology and advanced abilities. So for an ordinary person even without talents, if he chooses a hot field, he can easily get a well-paid job which suffice him a wealthy life.

It's important to realize that the job opportunities in different majors and fields can vary a lot. For example, in China, new graduates in IT fields can easily earn more than 5000 dollars each month if he graduates from a top 10 university, but graduates in biology or chemistry within the same university might only earn 2000 dollars per month. As college students always spend time on study, they should really try to expose themselves to real world, to experience the difference between differents jobs before choosing major.

We also have to realize that the interest will change as time goes by. A high school student might be interested in one field based on his current knowledge, but as he continues his study in college and touches deeper into one subject, his interest might collapse and he might turn his interest into other things. And actually, when one exposes one major deeply as his career, it's very possible that the original love fades. Interests can fade, but a higher salary can last.

In conclusion, both individual features and job opportunities are important in one's choice of major, but it's more wise to focus on job rather than individual factors. In this way people are more likely to find what they truly want and thus gain success.