Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The choice of one's college major might seem like a trivial task but it is anything other than that. It is common for students to pounder on this decision for weeks if not months. I am of the opinion that one must look inward while choosing a college major rather than seek validation outward for these two reasons.

The job market is ever so changing, what was in demand today may be archaic tomorrow. Thus taking a job solely on the bases of availability of jobs in the sort term could back fire in the long term .In the early 21th century the field for biomedical engineering was booming and rapidly growing. Subsequently, graduates of biomedical engineering were able to easily find high paying jobs immediately after graduating. However as further development in the field became stagnant due to complexities and also due to the prodigious cost of research in the field . Due to this the demand in the field came to an abrupt end. The students who had taken their majors in biomedical engineering due to the abundant availability of jobs by the 2010's found themselves facing a very different job market which needed IT professionals.The above example demonstrates how choosing a career solely on the bases of job availability can be a risky bet which can not work sometimes.

Further, even if we neglect the dynamic ever so changing job market, one should pursue their career in their interests rather than just follow the herd like a sheep. For example if some one is consummate in acting but due to the competitive market and saturation of actors decides to pursue their career in software engineering due to the abundance of high paying jobs it offers. Though initially one might be able to work but sooner our later they will find the job mundane and will come to their job only with the goal of finishing the work as soon as possible and go home this will result in haphazard work and ineffectiveness.While if they had chosen their career in acting maybe they would have earned less but they would have loved their work and in the who knows after a few years they could have a break through in their career in which they would earn way more than if they were yet doing the pedestrian IT job.

However some might argue that in this dynamic and competitive job market it is best that one selects a safe and secured field that guarantees them a job after their studies. But this doesn't mean one should not pursue their interests. If we do follow your interests we are likely to find the best job possible and likely to complete at the highest level possible.