Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

"A single dream is worth a thousand realities" is a quotes by a famous author. It means that what one dreams to achieve is far significant than what he or she may be able to achieve in reality. Dreams are what galvanize a human being it inspires us to push our limit and to become something greater than ourself. The above prompt suggests that one should not follow his/hers dreams as they mostly of selfish intent and should pick up more worthy goals which benefit the society as a whole. I disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

Human are the most intelligent species in the animal kingdom. Dreams are basically one's goals and desires which they want to get into fruition. Dreams can be of selfish intent sometimes but one would always excel in following their dream rather than working for a common goal. If one has a dream of becoming the greatest soccer player of all time and is forced into doing some task which he has no interest in just because it is considered a worthy goal, not only will he not be good at the task he is forced but he will also miss out the opportunity to become the soccer star he dreamed to be. If only he/she would has followed there dream and become a soccer star they could have inspired millions of other people and inherently do more good to the society. One cannot justify this dream as selfish as it indirectly does more good to the society than just pure selfishness.

Following dreams gives one freedom and independence to do what one might like which one of the fundamental building blocks of our society. If one is not allowed to follow their dreams will always has the antipathy of not being able to follow their dreams and will always wonder "what if I had done things differently?". Ones dream could be a become a scientist and by following their dreams they could have come up with a cure for cancer which a far noble goal than most. Calling all dreams selfish is a flawed argument in itself as some dreams are done purely based on passion rather than for monetary benefits. Even though one might have monetary benefits in their mind their dreams can be justified as worthy. If for instance one dreams to become a successful business man and achieves it but after in the process of becoming successful they would have not only improved their life but of thousands of other people who are inadvertently affected by the business.

In conclusion, dreams are what separates humans form other animals. It is what drives us to work hard even on the most bleak days, just so one day would achieve it. Following dreams do more good as they produce a better output from a human than if they would do something they disliked which intern is more worthy.