Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Some believe that decision should be taken based on morals like right and wrong should be the fundamentals of education and some others think that logical reasoning should be the foundation of morally based decisions. I support the later half as logical reasoning for the basis of moral decision has number of benefits for these reasons.

The people who support that morality should be the foundation of education follow a set of guidance in a particular situation they see anything as binary like right or wrong and then they impart this same view on their offspring and therefore making their view parochial and would not help children take effective decisions at crucial stages in their life. A basic education on morality like what kind of behaviors' are acceptable in society, but this does not cover all the cases in situation which might be unique to an individual in these cases one might feel hopeless and not know what to do, while if one uses logical reasoning he maybe even to come out of the most convoluted of problems.

Logical reasoning is the use of logic before making any decisions. It factors in the pros and cons of every move before taking one. Logical reasoning gives one the independence of making there own choice and doesn't restrict them. Logical reasoning as the bases helps one evaluate a situation unbiasedly and make a decision without any prejudice in mind. While in moral one makes decision most acceptable to society and this is the main factor which affects his decision making. This may sometimes lead to making a bad decision. In difficult times one who uses social morals to make decision is bound to have a difficult time compared to the one that makes his based on logic.

In summary, logical reasoning should be the foundation of education as it gives a sense of taking effective and moral decisions at crucial stages in life. Imparting moral education alone would provide a narrow outlook and not help people decide effectively when faced with challenging problems. Education should help citizens apply logical reasoning, considering morality and other consequences of the decision they make.