The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The letter in the above prompt stated that a study suggests that the faculty retention rate increased in the Oceania University after their professors were offered free tuition at university for their own college-aged children and the letter suggests Seatown university should use this as an example and start a similar policy in their university to enhance the moral among faculty and to lure in new professors. I disagree with the suggestion made by the letter for the following three reason.

Firstly, the letter doesn't provide us with how extensive was the study which was conducted near the Oceania University. It just states that the study was conducted near the Oceania University. It could be that the people who were part of the study all had a college-aged child and could have excluded the professor who do not have a offspring or a progeny that is no where close to college age. This weakens the argument and renders the authenticity of the study as debased. The letter should have mentioned in detail the people who partook in the study, this would have strengthened it's argument.

Secondly, there is no proof that implementing this strategy increased the moral of the professors and lured in new one's. All that the letter states is that after implementing this the retention rate of the faculty increased. It could have been that the faculty were not in high morale but just wanted to be in the university till there college aged children pass out of the university so they can reap the benefits of the free tuition fee, and the claim of luring in new professors is completely baseless and is just an unwarranted assumption made by the letter which inadvertently weaken the argument. The letter fails to provide any correlation between the two, if it did it could have made its argument more appealing.

Finally, just because this strategy worked in the Oceania University gives no guaranty it will also work in Seatown University. It could be that most of the professors in the Oceania University had a college-age child when the study was conducted and therefore preferred to stay at the university to get an added benefit. While the case could be completely inverse at the Seatown university and the professor do not have any college-aged children and this policy would give them no incentive to stay at the university.

In conclusion the argument is flawed and utterly unconvincing for the above mentioned assumption it makes. If the letter had provided the relevant information based by a few example it could have made a case for itself but as it stands it is weak claim and with very little to back it up.