Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call- in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

The author states that two years ago the WCQP radio station decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast and due to this the share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly, seeing there success the author suggests increasing such programs on the KICK station to gain a larger audience. The suggestion made my the author is flawed and based on unwarranted assumptions for the following reasons.

Firstly, there is no evidence that just because WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast more number of people started tuning in to the station. It just stated that the share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. There could be a plethora of different reasons why the radio audience in the area increased. This is a weak unsubstantiated calm that provide no correlation between the increase in radio audience and the increase of number of call-in advice programs . In fact, if the argument would have provided the increase in number of radio audience particularly due to call-in advice programs the argument would have been a lot stronger.

Secondly, the survey is conducted nationwide and not locally. While the majority of the nation might like call-in advice programs it doesn't mean that the people of Medway might like it. There may be many other regions in the nation that might like the call-in advice programs but is Medway isn't one of them then the increase in call-in advice programs would further decrease the number of radio audience. The survey also just vaguely states that the listeners are quite interested in such programs it doesn't 't cogently mention the call-in advice programs what if the survey had only two options one being boring news and the other call-in advice programs, so the people just chose the lesser bad. The argument could have been made stronger if the survey had been done only on the people of Medway.

Finally, it doesn't state when the survey was conducted. If the survey was conducted two years ago when the call-in advice programs where popular then if doesn't mean they are still popular. There could be a different program which is currently hot in the market and company should rather focus on that. If the survey doesn't hold water in todays time it could lead to detrimental outcomes for the radio channel if implemented as is could be that the radio audience is now bored of this format and doesn't like it anymore