Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

In today's world where most people are consumed by hedonistic pleasures of life, moral values such as altruism seem to be declining. The promt suggestss that in order to overcome this issue, the need to pick more worthy and selfless goals should be prioritized over following one's dream. I mostly disagree with the statement due to a few reasons about which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that a few moral programs or changes could be taken into consideration to help make a more selfless world.

One reason why I mostly disagree with the prompt is that in an independant nation, I believe every individual has the right to make their own choice. Any kind of limitation or restriction should not be interfering with and affecting the choice of another. Moreover, everyone should be liable for their own actions. Afterall, a forced decision will eventually only result in retaliation or apathy towards ones goals.

The second reason why I am mostly against this statement is that the compromize on the skill that comes from choosing something that one may not be very good at. This limitation refrains a person from being the best version of himself/herself. He/she may end up choosing a career that he/she thinks may benefit the common good of the people but eventually restrict their own growth. This can best be expemplfied through an example of the students in my engineering college. Almost majority of the students in my class chose this line of career because of the importance it holds. Eventually, today after completing three years most realized that they are not fit for the respective field and have ended up making a change in their respective careers

Thus, although more importance or emphasis placed on choosing a more worthy goal could in some way lead to the welfare of a state, country or even the world, one must always be given the free will to choose to follow their dreams. Also, every person should be given a fair and equal opportunity to utilize their skill and talent to the fullest. Becasue afterall, what is the point in doing something you don't like or are not good at?