Education doesn't define a persons intelligence or potential. One who has not gone to college can also excel in life. Requiring all students to go to college is a plan destined for failure. I disagree with the author suggestion for these few reasons

College doesn't define or qualify someone's worth. Many people who have gone to college have ended up far worse than those who haven't gone to college. The best example for this senario can be Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple. He was a drop out from Reed college where he mention the college had a negative impact on him as the college had a premandate ciriculum which forced him to study things in which he had little to no interest in. He also goes as far to say that droping out was one of the best decision he made as it gave him freedom to learn what he liked without any restrictions, and as we know later on Steve jobs founded Apple which one of the biggest companies in recent times.

Going to college doesn't gaurantee a job. In the today's job market, recruiters rarely care about which college you have graduated from, all that matters today is if the person has the required skill set for the job. In, today's day and age when every thing has become online, there are various online resources like Coursera (online learning platform) that can help get the required skills with a certification to back it up without wasting time and money going to old archiac colleges, where not only one has to study extra courses which have little to no use in the industry but also spend an inexorable price, which brings me to my next point.

Tuition fees in college have reached an all time high. In the current global senario when the economy is in reccesion, it seems hardly quantifiable to pay around $80,000 for tuition fees. The average household income being around the range of $50,000 per annum. This means majority of the people who enter the college have to take education loans which adds an additional burden on the student. If the nation can pay for the college tuition of the not so privilaged than it would yet entice some students to opt for going to college, but by making it compulsary it just adds burden on the already weak middle class.

One could argue that going to college helps student with a more broader scope and helps them network better by meeting many people who are in the industry. But in today's day and age with the help so app's like LinkdIn one can easily network with industry specialists and can do this at the comfort of there homes.

In summary, making college compulsary will only burden students with loans and force them into studing things they have no interest in. College in my opinion should only be optional to those who have the money and the eagerness to study further.