The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Self-knowlege is the discovery of oneself by experincing and trying out different things life has to offer.What one learns by self in unknown environments cannot be thought or learnt in any book found. An expirenced person will always fair better in life than a person who has only taken knowledge from the books and not applied it any where.I strongly agree with this suggestion that the first step to self knowledge is the rejection of the fimiliar for the following two reasons.

There are two ways of aquring knowledge one is through other peoples expiriences (books, journals, magazines, etc) in this one has a very parochial scope of what the author has mentioned or experimented on and it limites the readers to only to the authors perspective whereas in self-knowledge on tries and expirences the things and maybe come up with an even better approach or even find something new which had not been discovered. For instance, time and time again scientist had to go against the popular notion to prove there theroy if they hadn't rejected the gimiliar we would be still beliving that the eath is the center of the universe and all the other planets revolve around it.

Self-knowledge leads to greater understanding and compels on to thing in a more broader way and is not restricted by others discovery or opinions. Gaining as much knowlege is important to be successful in life. If one tries to open a new restraunt and wants it to be successful he has to try new things and come up with a dish that is unique which seperates him from the competition rather than just copying some culinary book and cook the same mundane dishes that even his competitors can cook and serve. If one wants to succed in this highly competitive world which is ever so changing one has to reject the fimilar and come up with something unique and new to stand out.

The differnece between ordinary people and successful people is that they move out of there comfort zone and reject the fimiliar and try to find bettwe ways to things that already exist rather than just accepting the way the things are.One cannot grow and succeed unless he tries to get out from his comfort level and fight against the "obvious" elements of his surroundings. For example Apple in 2016 compelety removed the headphonejack from its devices at that time it seemed a foolish move to do and many in the industry thought this way goingto be the down fall of Apple but as it stands today Apple is leading in the industry and many other competitor followed Apples lead and also removed the head-phone jack from there devices

Of course some may say that the familiar provides a staring point for people and a base that can encourage futher deveploment but often amount of time the familiar is faulty and instead of helping obsures the progress one could have made by just rejecting it. Self-knowledge is not only the best way to attain knowledge but also is the best way to retain it.