The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, it states that over the past few years the national news program had devoted more time to new and less time to weather and local news due to this many complaints were received and many late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts. To solve this issue and to attract more viewers the news programs are considering to expand their coverage of weather and local news on all pf their news programs. However the reason made are not backed enough strongly.

Firstly, there is no proof provided that the increase in time devoted to national news has caused the complaints received from viewers and it there is no proof that this has caused a reduction in the number of viewers. It could be that due to the devoted increased time to national news more viewers turn in to see the news compared to few that complain about the station's coverage of weather and local news.

Secondly, there is no guarantee that increasing the coverage of weather and local news will garner and attract more viewers. It only states that most of the complains received were regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news but if the complains are insignificant in number than it does not make sense to expand the coverage of weather and local news on all news programs.

Thirdly, just by adding more coverage of weather and local news on all news programs doesn't promise that the canceled their advertising contracts will be renewed. What if the local businesses have reached out to another new channel and signed a contract with them. Instead if the company just sticks to the increased time to national news could get them a bigger advertising contracts which caters to nation instead of just some locality and compared to local businesses contracts more valuable.

In summary, the argument is flawed and utterly unconvincing. It could have been considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts and provided the correct examples. In order to comment on such a topic, it is extremely important to have full knowledge of all contributing factors.