Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

The main thing that differentiates humans from other animals is that humans follow certain law and order. If we had no law and order everything would be in an amok state. Even though laws are not meant to bend for any personal in some rare cases exceptions can be depending upon the circumstances, times, and place. I agree with the given prompt for the following reasons.

In cases of emergency and need one need to be compassionate and understand others problems. For example if there was a stringent rule of not speeding over a certain limit in a locality and someone faces an emergency in which one needs to be rushed to the hospital and no ambulances are available maybe due to ill weather, so the driver may need to break the speed limit to save someone's life and in this case punishing the person would be unjustifiable.

However, one might say, there are downsides of having flexible laws as people might misusing there influence and getting away with illicit activities. For instance just because someone is related to a politician, actor or even another cop they might get away with there wrong doing. But this is not compulsory as there could be a guideline and example cases which clearly outline the case in which the laws can be flexible, like breaking a traffic signal to get to the hospital and not so much for breaking the traffic signal to get to work on time just because one woke up late.

In the end there are positives and negatives to every side but in the case on flexible laws the positive outweigh the negatives as the only negative it has is one in a while one might get out of trouble by lying, on the contrary the positives are if there is a misunderstanding or a important situation in which one has to break the law they are given the chance to justify their cause for breaking the law.