A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The author above mentions that a pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food as it received complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness, after recalling the company tested the recalled samples and found that all the chemicals that are approved were only use in the pet food, and therefore they assume that the food was not responsible and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation. I think the author has made baseless claims above for the following reasons.

Firstly, why is that so many people complain regarding vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness after their pet ate the food of this particular company? The number of recalled food is not a small amount. This indicates that there may be an serious issue in the food and it is universally creating a problem for pet owner and is not only limited to a certain type of pet or a certain condition.

Secondly, the chemicals found in the recalled food were found to be approved to use in pet food but it may be that these chemicals when combined react and are deleterious for the pet. The company should conduct a through research on the chemicals and how they react in different conditions and the side effects they produce. It may be that if the food is not stored in the idle condition it causes the chemicals in the food to react and make the food harmful for pets to consume and make them sick.

Thirdly, the author just assumes that the chemicals in the food result to the illness, it could be that the company uses unhygienic process while making the food and this results to the illness caused to the pets. Thus, not just the ingredients, but also the production and storage methods should be examined to determine whether the food is fit for consumption.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed and is based on unwarranted assumptions that the author makes. The author takes a very parochial approach while investigating the issue and as a result makes the argument baseless and unsubstantiated. If the author would have taking in consideration all the issues they could have strengthened their argument, but as it stands the argument has no merit to it.