A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the editorial from the local newspaper, it is stated that illegal immigrants threaten the economy and national identity of a country and having feeble borders can cause them to enter the country unchecked. The author further adds that there should be efforts to send them back to their ocountry of origin. However before this recommendation can be properly accepted, the following assumptions should be evaluated.

Firstly, the author in the editorial assumes that the country borders is not already robust and needs more attention. The author can be totally mistaken about the strength of the borders. The scenario could be that not only the borders are vigorous the government have made the army positioned there so no outsiders could enter the country. The goverment has not only stationed the army but have also built a wall high enough for the people of the other country to pass in. If this arguement holds true that then author's assumptions doesn't hold water.

Secondly, the author presumes that the national and economical identity can only be endangered by the illegal immigrants. There could be a possibility that the current identity of the nation is very hostile because of its very reasons to not let immigrants in the country. Paradoxically, the illegal immigrants are not actually a threat to the people as their sole motive to go to other country could be the liking towards the country or have chauvnistic tendency towards the country. If this arguement tends to have merit then the author assumptions are unwarranted.

Thirdly, the author seems to believe that the the government currently is doing nothing to send the illegal immigrants to their own country. In fact, from the recent statistics in the news the government have successfully corroborated 80 precent of the immigrants in the country and already made arrangements for the illegal ones to be sent back to their country. They have done the following by verifying the data and have taken into consideration everything thats required for the immigrant.

In conclusion, the arguement as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance with several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence and provide it in more systematic form, then it will be possible, to fully evaluate the validity of the arguement.