The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the editorial from the local newspaper of Masontown, it is stated to recycle the waste and implement advertising campaign to encourage the town's resident to recycle. This in turn will also save money from the municipal garbage disposal fees. The author comes to this conclusion after seeing the success of the neighboring town Hayesworth in recycling paper and glass that yeilds to lower garbage disposal system cost. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, two Questions must be answered.

First of all, Are the recycling rules of the town Masonworth and the town Hayeshworth roughly comparable? In other words can the rules of recycling from one town be implemented on another town? It is possible that the town of Masontown already has the paper and glass recylcing law in plan but due to people being affulent in the town doesn't mind sparing a few dollars for the waste disposal as a fine, due to them being very curious of their health and wanting to use pristine things every single time. It is also possible that the people in Hayesworth are obligated to follow the recycling rules while those in Masontown have been given a choice. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original arguement is significantly weakned.

Secondly, is the municipal garbage disposal system cost of town Hayesworth as high as that of Masontown. People in Hayesworth have no factories in the town so that leads to the shortage in the garbage disposal which in turn leads to less cost. In contrast to this there are a lot of production factories in Masontown that leads to creating a lot of garbage in turn increasing the cost. If this scenario has merit, then the arguement holds water.

In conclusion, the arguementm as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the two questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in form of a more detailed analysis and research), then it will be possible to fully evalute the viability of the porposed recommendation to add a law for recycling and advertising it in Masontown.