The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although the recycling campaign suggested in the letter might result in Mason town saving its money on waste disposal, the arguments provided in the letter for undertaking such a campaign are speculative at best. The letter needs to provide answers to many pertinent questions before a conclusion can be made about the effectiveness of the recommended advertising campaign.

Firstly, we need to know the exact garbage composition of both Mason town and Hayes worth before we can conclude that the policy taken in Hayes worth will be effective in Mason town as well. If the composition of the garbage materials are quite similar, then it is plausible that the recycling will reduce the disposal cost of waste. As we know, not all waste materials can be recycled. If the garbage materials of Mason town do not contain much recyclable waste like Hayes worth such as paper and glass, then undertaking a recycling campaign will only be a sheer waste of time and resources.

Secondly, what was the biggest contributing factor in the significant reduction of waste disposal costs of Hayes-worth? This question is a very valid one and needs to be carefully and meticulously considered. May be the amount of garbage generated was less due to some other reasons such as the decrease of population or an economic crisis. The disposal cost may have only decreased due to this very plausible reason. In order to know for sure the reasons behind the decrease in disposal costs, a study needs to be conducted on the total amount of waste generated.

Another important question that arises is whether Mason town is willing to fine its citizens if they do not comply with the recycling policy. Since, it is quite possible that the Hayes worth residents only recycled their garbage in the fear of lofty fines, we need to understand whether the residents of Mason town will simply start recycling their waste because of a uncompelling advertising campaign.

The letter also fails to address the costs of recycling. If the costs of recycling is higher than the disposal costs, then it would be foolish to implement a recycling policy. In order to know whether the recycling of waste would bring any economic benefit to Mason town, we need to first conduct extensive studies. If indeed it is found that the recycling cost is significantly lower than the disposal expenses, then it would be logical to implement the advertising campaign.

In conclusion, we can state that in order to decide whether the proposed advertising campaign will bring the desired results we need to know the answers to some crucial questions.