The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown, the author suggests starting an advertising campaign to encourage residents to recycle more in order to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees. The author reaches this conclusion by citing that a similar law was passed in Hayesworth, a neighboring town, and it worked. However, before the author's recommendation can be properly evaluated three questions must be answered.

First, Are Masontown and Hayesworth similar or the same? The author prematurely assumes what works for Hayesworth will also work for Masontown. While this may be true, we just can't say for sure. It is possible that while Hayesworth residents are willing to obey the recycling law, residents of Masontown are anti-recycling. If this is true, then the author's stance is weakened.

Secondly, what is the medium of the advertising campaigns? In Hayesworth, a law was passed, but here, the author isn't suggesting a law be passed. He/she is relying on advertising campaigns to convince residents of Masontown to start recycling, but doesn't state the media to use. What if Masontown decides to use radio or newspapers for the advertisement campaign and the residents rarely listen to radio and read newspaper? If the form of media chosen fails to reach the majority of the people of Masontown, then the author's recommendation is seriously undermined.

Thirdly, what is the current average garbage disposal fee in Masontown? The author indirectly compares the garbage disposal fee to that of Hayesworth. Perhaps, the disposal fee in Masontown is way lower than that of Hayesworth, so residents only pay a little fee. Therefore, introducing recycling will have little to no effects.

Lastly, what is the willingness of Masontown residents to start recycling? Since, the author doesn't suggest passing a law; the residents might not take recycling seriously. Even if a law was passed, the author wrongly assumes the residents will not be willing to pay fines. For all we know, they may be anti-recycling and decide to pay fines instead of obeying the law.

In conclusion, the author's argument, as it stands, is deeply flawed as it is based on several unwarranted assumptions. For analyze the viability of this recommendation, the author needs to provide detailed answers to the above questions and maybe provide additional details in the form of a systematic study of residents in the town.