The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Like the saying goes, time waits for no man. So for a society to move at a rapid pace is inevitable. The debate of the effects of the increasingly rapid pace of life is not a new one. For decades, scholars have contributed different insights towards this argument. The prompt suggests that the increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves. I strongly disagree with this for two reasons.

To begin, the increasingly rapid pace of life today poses more good than harm. For instance, let’s consider the advancement of the health sector. The “increased rapid pace of life” has brought upon us thorough scientific research which has led to the development of several cures to deleterious diseases and viruses. The COVID vaccine is a good example of this. Millions of lives were saved as a result of the development of the vaccine. Likewise, billions of lives were also saved through the safety and preventive measures the World Health Organization (WHO) communicated to the world. If science had been moving at a slower rate, who knows if scientists would have been able to develop the vaccine and saved millions of lives. Same thing goes for treatment of cancer and AIDS. Scientists developed chemotherapy, a treatment process for cancer patients, which has proven effective and helps manage or even help patients go into remission.

Further, the rapid pace of life led to technological advancements which in turn led to the development of sophisticated medical equipment such as the MRI scanner and X-ray machines used to detect and solve several health problems. Other health problems such as sickle cell, anemia, eye defects, and even mental problems have been solved, all thanks to this “rapid pace of life”. How then can we say that the increasingly rapid pace of life has caused more problems than it solves?

Some may argue that the increasingly rapid pace of life has messed up the environment by causing global warming. May I remind us, that fossil fuel or crude oil is a natural resource, and what man did was to exploit it. They could not have known the drastic effects burning fossil fuels will have on climate change at the time because science was still in its rudimentary stages. However, the increasingly rapid pace of life brought a significant change. With time, scientists were able to develop renewable energy, an alternative to fossil fuels, to combat the issue of global warming. So it seems the rapid pace of life has continued to solve problems and even fix problems unintentionally created for the benefit of mankind.