"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The concept of leadership in our society today is subject to various reasoning or idea of how things should be done. So it’s not surprising for people to hold different views. The prompt suggests that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government and other fields is by promoting cooperation and not competition. I strongly agree with this and argue that societies encourage cooperation in leadership roles amongst its youth for three reasons.

Starting with leadership in government, I believe the best way of ensuring good governance or great leadership performance by youths in the government is for them to work together. After all, a tree doesn’t make a forest, and a government doesn’t consist of only one man or only one department. When leaders in government work together, they are only bound to achieve great results. For example, when Barack Obama was president of the United States, he worked closely with the president of Pakistan to successfully kill notorious terrorist, Osama Bin Laden, who was at the time hiding in Pakistan. Not to say competition is bad, but it’s simply not suitable in most occasions when it comes to governance. If there had not been cooperation between the leadership of both countries, and they instead were competing for “who gets Bin Laden first”, the mission may have failed. Surely, both governments must have understood the importance of cooperation right from their early days as a young politician.

Moving on, promoting cooperation between industry leaders is sure to yield fruitful results. Competition in the industry, sure is good, as it keeps all parties involved alert and at their best. However, this mostly results in unhealthy rivalry and a clash of egos. On the other hand, if industry leaders in a particular field decide to cooperate and work together, they do so for the betterment of the society and not the enrichment of their pockets. For example, consider the aviation industry. We have seen how a company manufactures an airplane (Airbus), and another company produces the jet engine of the airplane (Rolls Royce). This collaboration between both companies has been going on for several decades and keeps advancing to ensure construction of safer airplanes. What do we have to thank for this? Cooperation!

Lastly, in other fields such as medicine, cooperating and exchanging ideas or discoveries has led to the advancement of the sector. This, in turn, improves the quality of life of the people of the society. For example, leaders in the health sector coming together to exchange scientific discoveries to develop COVID vaccine. Competing on “who comes up with a cure first”, while it may add fortunes to one company, it will only have delayed the development of the vaccine, and thousands of more people would have died. Hence, cooperation is better instilled in youth leaders than competition.

In conclusion, the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, and other fields is to promote cooperation and not competition for the above reasons. This way, everyone enjoys the benefits and the society moves forward.