In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends to the City Council to organize a campaign to attract Autotech and offer them a huge tax incentive in order to resolve the issue of unemployment. The author reaches this conclusion by stating the building and staffing of the new automobile plant by Autotech will employ thousands of Hillview residents. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated three questions must be answered.

First, does Autotech have an interest in building a new automobile plant? In the argument, the author prematurely assumes organizing a campaign and offering huge tax cuts will automatically attract Autotech to build a new plant in Hillview. While this sounds like a tempting offer, what if the company refuses it? It is possible Autotech is currently building a new automobile plant in another location that has taken most of their yearly budget, hence, they won’t be able to finance another building project. Or perharps, Autotech prefers to site its plants in urban areas whereas Hillview is a rural area. If any of these are true, then the author’s argument is significantly weakened.

Moving on, what is the current unemployment rate in Hillview? The author states that when Computech computer left its national facility last year, thousands of Hillview residents lost their jobs. While that may be true, the author wrongly assumes what applies last year still applies this year. While it’s possible thousands of people are still unemployed, it’s also possible only a few people are-say hundreds, or nobody is even unemployed. Perhaps, after Computech computer folded up, another company took its place and hired Hillview residents. Or unemployed Hillview residents decided to relocate to another town to seek new job opportunities. If any of these are true, the author’s recommendation is weakened because Autotech will have little or no one to employ.

Lastly, how large is Autotech? This question is valid in determining the building and hiring strengths of the company. While it’s possible Autotech is a giant car manufacturer, the author doesn’t provide any proof to support this. Perhaps Autotech is just a small time company, relatively new in the game, and may not have the resources to build a car plant in Hillview. And if the company can’t do that, there’s no way they can hire residents of Hillview. Therefore, the issue of unemployment persists, and the author’s stance is seriously undermined.

In conclusion, the author’s recommendation, as it stands, is deeply flawed because they are based on unwarranted assumptions. For the author’s recommendation to be properly evaluated, he/she has to provide detailed answers to the above questions, perhaps in the form of a survey or report with relevant data or figures.