“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview says that, in order to address the unemployment problem in the City, the Autotech company needs to be encourage to build their automobile manufacturing plant in the area. The reason stated in the memo for this decision is, because the Hillview landfill will be the perfect place for setting up the facility and it will also provide employment to the people of the city. Before proceeding with the solutions to attract the company, following questions need to be answered.

Are the unemployed residents of the Hillview ready to work for Autotech? Do these people have adequate competance? There is a possibility that the unemployed residents in the area are skilled to perform tasks that are useful in a computer software programming company and don't have much skills to do a job in a automobile manufacturing plant. It is also possible that these residents are not interested to work for a company. They might be thinking of starting their own business or relocating to nearby city for job. Therefore, until these questions are answered it is not possible to go ahead with the recommendation.

Furthermore, is the site for manufacturing plant is really an ideal location? There is a possibility that the requirements for setting up the manufacturing plant are totally different. The area mentioned is underdeveloped. It is possible that few developments are required to set up the plant such as availability of wifi and proper mobile connectivity, availability of road connectivity, electricity. The major raw material used in various manufacturing processes is water. Is it thoroughly evaluated if this is available in large quantity nearby? In case if all these problems come up then it is not wise to implement the recommendations stated.

In order to analyze if it is wise to go ahead with the recommendations, it is necessary to get answer for above questions. The answers can be provided in the form of survey report from independant aganecy. In absence of these questions, the recommendation as it is does not hold water.role in the increased violence.