Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety

of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities

should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help

prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Education is a key that not only changes a person’s perspective but it also helps shape future of his/her family. The prompt discusses two views in which few people believe that universities should require every student to take courses outside student’s field of study while others believe that they shouldn’t allow students to take courses outside those that will bring them jobs. I think that students should be allowed to take courses outside their field of study due to two reasons.

It is possible that the subjects outside area of study may inspire students to look at their subjects in different perspective or help them solve issues of real life using combination of both subjects. For example, a student chooses his/her area of expertise to be Engineering and the university allows students to choose any subject outside their field study and the student chooses biology as this additional subject. There is a possibility that while discussing few concepts of engineering he/she can come up with a solution that builds a simple equipment that can help detect people if they are having symptoms of a particular disease at early stage which he/she learnt in his/her biology class which will help people to get this disease treated at early stage and avoid complications. So it is possible that these additional subjects outside field of study may help students to get inspired and get more understanding in their area of expertise.

Every student gives careful consideration while choosing field of study, however it is possible that there are few things which have not been considered by student. For example, a student is very good at logic building and analytical thinking, due to which he/she chooses computer programming as the major. However, after studying the subject he/she realizes that the course he too much technical and is not suitable for him/her. In this case if the course is designed in such a way that there are subjects related to that course only then it becomes difficult for the student and he/she may decide to leave the course and pursue something of his/her interest or continue choosing the same course which he/she doesn’t like and don’t do well in career! However, if he/she had the opportunity to explore few courses which are outside of the field of study then he/she might have the chance to understand his/her likes and dislikes and can make informed decision to choose the area of expertise and hence the relevant course.

One might argue that it shouldn’t happen that student is learning more about other studies rather than the field of study he/she has chosen and hence are not able to learn the skillsets of the field of study. However, I believe that universities should allow students to choose 3-4 electives and rest all courses shall be related to field of study.