The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Memorandum from general manager of KNOW radio station states that, if they switch from rock and roll music to 24- hour news then it will attract the listeners. This conclusion is based on three reasons viz, the number of people over fifty has increased in the broadcasting area, the sales of music store has declined and the continuous news stations in the neighboring areas are successful. However, in order to evaluate this conclusion, following assumptions need to be clarified.

First of all, it is assumed that the broadcasting areas for the continuous stations in the neighboring area is comparable to the broadcasting area of the KNOW radio station. There is a possibility that the population that is addressed by the neighboring cities’ continuous station is different than that of the population where KNOW radio broadcasts. Maybe the people are older in the neighboring areas than that of in the area where KNOW focuses. Furthermore, there is a possibility that the neighboring cities don’t have other source of news which may not be the case in the KNOW broadcasted area. If the above scenarios are true, then the conclusion made by the general manager is significantly weakened.

Secondly, an assumption has been made that the older people like news and therefore the shift from music to news will benefit the radio station. It is possible that this older population like music and the reason number of listeners is declined is because the music preferred by this population is not played by KNOW station. One more thing is possible that the KNOW station broadcast lots of advertisements which are not liked by this population. In case if above is true, then the conclusion does not hold water.

Furthermore, it is also assumed that, since the sales of music stores in the area have declined, people do not like the music. There is a possibility that people like music and are accessing it through other channels such as other radio station or maybe from internet. In the event of above being true, it will weaken the author’s conclusion.

By taking into consideration above reasoning it is clear that, the conclusion made by general manager is flawed and in order to evaluate this conclusion, further information regarding above assumptions is required.