The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memo from the manager of KNOW radio station claims that KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format to secure KNOW radio's future. His claim is based on unwarranted assumptions. If the assumptions prove invalid, then the argument falls apart.

Firstly, the author of the memo assumes that switching to a continuous news format will automatically attract more listeners. The author's assumption is based on the fact that number of listeners has declined despite increase in the number of people in the listening area. The author assumes that increase in the number of people in the listening area should increase number of listeners to KNOW radio station. He does not take all factors into consideration regarding the decline in the number of listeners. For instance, most of the people in that area may be interested in listening music from other sources like online music, television or other radio stations rather than from KNOW radio station. If this is the case, then the author might be taking wrong decision switching to a continuous news format. They have conduct proper survey to estimate the exact reasons for the decline in the number of listeners to KNOW radio station.

Secondly, the author assumes that people are not interested in listening to KNOW radio station's rock-and-roll music as music stores in their area reported decreased sales of recorded music. For instance, most people in their area may be interested in rock-and-roll music but may prefer listening from other platforms like online music, television where they can listen to music free of cost. If this is the case, then switching from current rock-and-roll music to continuous new format may not be successful.

The author of memo states that switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news format will attract more listeners as continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been successful. Thirdly, the author assumes that neighboring cities and listening area of KNOW radio station are comparable. For instance, the author does not take many factors into consideration like the number of the people in those areas , the number of listeners in those areas and the preferences of the people in those areas. If the people in the listening area of KNOW radio station are not interested in news, then the switch to 24-hour news will be of no use and will not secure KNOW radio's future.

The author's argument is based on the above assumptions. If the assumptions prove unwarranted, then the argument falls apart. The author should show some evidence to support the argument.