Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials should rely mostly on their own judgement. They need not unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve but they have to make their own judgement taking into account the will of the people they serve.

Firstly, if there is an emergency situation like a war in any country and government has decided to impose curfew in the country, then the government officials need not ask the opinion of the people in their country regarding the imposition of the curfew. Because if majority of the population are against the imposition of the curfew in the country, then it becomes a problem if the government officials withdraw curfew based on the will of the majority of the population. In this case, adopting the recommendation made by the author is advantageous because curfew is mainly meant to restore the cordial relationships between the people and bring peace in the country soon.

Secondly, if the government decides to provide reservation for the minority group people in many fields like education, politics, entertainment, then government officials should rely on their own judgemnet rather than knowing the opinion of each and every person in the country. Because, there is a possibility that the country has only few people belong to minority category and majority of the population oppose the idea of the reservation. There is also possibility that only few people oppose the idea of the reservation. It would become a problem if government officials favor the people who oppose the idea of reservation without asking any questions to them regarding why they do not want the reservation system to be implemented in their country. In this case, adopting the recommendation made by the author is advantageous.

Thirdly, if the government decides to increase taxes on all goods without asking the opinion of the people in their own country, then the recommendation would be disadvantegous. However, if the government conducts a survey to know the opinion of the people regarding how much increase in taxes is acceptable and affordable by the people in the country, then the government can impose fair amount of increase in the taxes on the goods taking into account the opinions of all the people in their country.

Government officials should rely on their own judgement rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve. However, they have to consider the will of the people they serve before their making their own judgement to make a fair juddgement.