Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the arguments concludes that the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated because of the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve. There is no concrete evidence supporting the argument.

Firstly, the author of the argument assumes that the slightly less rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle. The author does not provide any evidence supporting the above assumption. The author states that the only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. The author does not tell who has found the difference in climate and the process followed to find the difference in climate in both areas. For instance, they be other differences in climate rather than slightly less rainfall which they might not have observed. There must be some proper evidence that the only difference is slightly less rainfall.

Secondly, the author claims that disappearance of the imported gazelle population must have been caused by the larger number of predators since reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause. The author does not take all factors into consideration. The author assume that the difference in climate and predation will only be the causes of their disappearance. The author must provide concrete evidence that they have examined all other factors which might cause their disappearance and they found predation to be the only cause for their disappearance.

Thirdly, the author does not tell if they found any reduction in the imported western gazelle population in first three years in the eastern preserve. If they found drastic reduction after three years in the eastern preserve and slight reduction or no reduction in first three years, then the author cannot claim the predation to be the cause for the virtual elimination of western gazelle. If the predation is the only cause for their disappearance, the author needs to answer why did they find virtual elimination after three years which is a long time. The author must provide evidence that there was reduction in first three years which led to their virtual disappearance after three years.

The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions. The author assumes that predation is the only cause of the virtual elimination of imported western gazelle population since slightly less rainfall cannot be the cause for the elimination. The author should provide concrete evidence which takes all factors into consideration for supporting the argument.