Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

In the argument, the author concludes that the population of the western gazelle is nullified due to a high number of predators in the eastern preserve. The author comes to this conclusion based on observations of slightly less rainfall and a high number of predators. However, while the argument might ultimately prove true. It rests on three unwarranted assumptions that drastically hinder the credibility of the statement. If the author wishes to enhance the persuasiveness of the argument, he or she must provide three pieces of evidence.

Firstly, the author assumes that slightly less rainfall is the only difference between Western Palean Preserve and Eastern Palean Preserve. Perhaps, this is not the case, maybe, the terrain is very different and the imported gazelles find it hard to migrate within the park. In addition to that, it might also be that due to slightly lesser rainfalls, the gazelles find it perplexing, as previously the terrain abounded with water sources.

Secondly, the author assumes that the western gazelles have been completely decimated. However, it is possible that they happened to digress toward a more habitable zone in the preserve and the researchers couldn't locate them. Maybe, as they move in larger herds they collectively reside away from predators and thus making it difficult to spot.

Finally, the author assumes that the transport of animals was done properly. Maybe, the gazelles weren't given enough food during transport and were very weak when they were released in the eastern preserve, making it difficult for them to survive. Furthermore, the food sources in the new park might not have been familiar to the imported gazelles, hindering their survivability of them.

In conclusion, the argument is considerably flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. Before any further inferences are made, if the author wishes to bolster the validity of the argument, he or she must provide three pieces of evidence.