The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

The recent trend in society is to speed up the process of achieving goals and obtain the same results, in a quicker time. However, doing so might lead to creating more problems than solving the existing ones. The prompt wishes to address this dilemma, I mostly agree with the prompt for two main reasons, however, I do concede that in select cases, rapidity is undeniably essential.

First of all, increasing the swiftness of a process usually tends to cut corners by a substantial amount. Because cutting corners in a critical workflow increases the risks of failure, these corner cuttings, in the future will inevitably cause more problems. For example, Samsung rushed to create a new flagship model in 2018, a few months after the product was launched, it gained a lot of media attention when it exploded during continuous usage while charging. The reason for exploding as stated in many well-known tech blogs and articles was because of the incapability of a resistor to handle the current load. Companies need to understand that increasing the rapidity of the process might not always lead to fruitful outcomes and must understand the risk of failure involved in it.

Secondly, when something is rushed, the favourable outcome might be accompanied by an unfavourable outcome as well. For example, Industrial effluents being released into water bodies has been a widely debated topic. Companies focus more on the main product than giving importance to the co-products the process has generated. These co-products are often useless and usually detrimental. To ensure rapid production, companies focus on increasing production rates but neglect the harmful effects of the co-products being produced. This is also one of the negative impacts of rapid nature in an industrial environment.

However, I do concede, that the rapid pace of a certain task is essential in some cases. For example, a manufacturing process called rapid prototyping ensures that a product can be built roughly and quite accurately using a different material, to check its performance in the real world. This process sheds time in manufacturing and implementing design changes in the product itself. It can be inferred that rapid prototyping is a very crucial phase of product development. Therefore, I reinstate my idea that In a select few cases, rapidity is very essential and must be followed.

In conclusion, I do agree that the rapid pace of life causes more problems than it solves, but I do concede that in some cases rapid nature of the process must be followed to obtain the required outcome.