The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the president of Butler Manufacturing concludes that shortening work shifts by one hour will reduce on-the-job accidents. The author comes to this conclusion based on a recent government study and a comparison with nearby Panoply Industry. As it stands, the author’s contention might be valid, however, if the president wishes to bolster the credibility of the statement, he must provide three pieces of crucial evidence.

Firstly, the author assumes that 30 percent is similar for Butler Manufacturing and Panoply Industry. But this might not be the case, Perhaps, the number of workers in Butler Manufacturing is very high. 30 percent of, let’s say 5000 workers is quite a high number. Panoply Industries might not have as many workers and 30 percent of their total workers might be very less. Moreover, maybe the floor manager in Panoply Industry takes more safety precautions than the floor manager in Butler Manufacturing. If either of these scenarios prove true, then the author’s contention of reducing work shifts by 1 hour does not hold water.

Secondly, the president of Butler Manufacturing presumes that when the workers are let go 1 hour early, they use this time to take adequate rest. But this might be wrong, it might be that the workers spend this time watching movies and playing video games. Furthermore, the workers might use this early leave to spend quality time with their families. If either of these scenarios prove true, then the persuasiveness of the authors argument is drastically hindered.

Finally, the author assumes that Panoply Industry and Butler Manufacturing are identical. But, it might be that Panoply Industry pays a lot more attention to safety of the workers than in Butler Manufacturing. In addition to that, Panoply Industry might have a more relaxed time constraint whereas in Butler Manufacturing due to limited time the workers are forced to take more risks. If these situations are the case, then the authors contention that Butler Manufacuring should shorten the work hours is not persuasive.

In conclusion, if the president of Butler Manufacturing wished to enhance the validity of the argument, he must provide three pieces of crucial evidence.