Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument says that the disappearance of the western gazelles was due to a large number of predators in the eastern preserve, based on the evidence that a slight decline in rainfall cannot be the cause of this elimination. Stated in this way, the argument fails to take several pivotal factors into consideration for which no transparent evidence is provided. Therefore, the argument remains fallacious and open for debate. Nevertheless, to make it more compelling, the following three pieces of evidence must be provided.

First of all, the author mentioned that 100 lions and 100 western gazelle were moved, but were there only 100 gazelles in the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve? If there were more than 100, why those 100 gazelles? Perhaps, the selected gazelles were delicate and ill. As a result, after the movement to Eastern Palean Preserve, they gradually died. No clear evidence is presented. If this is what is happening here, the conclusion made in the argument is fully weakened.

Furthermore, the author assumed that a slight reduction in the rainfall is not liable for the virtual elimination of western gazelles. However, the author failed to provide the reason behind it. These gazelles may prefer heavy rainfall (which can be predicted as flooding occurring at the western preserve). Therefore, a decline in the rain results in their disappearance of them. The author should delineate more tenable reasonings to make the argument more plausible.

Finally, another assumption is that the predators were the cause of gazelles' elimination, but the author scarcely provided any evidence for that. If predators were the main reason for their destruction, then how did eastern gazelles survive? Predators do not know which one is the eastern and western gazelles. In this scenario, both eastern and western gazelles could be the prey. Perhaps, there was a lack of food in the eastern zone and western gazelles could not adapt themselves to the new places, that's why they gradually decreased. If this is occurring here, the evidence provided in the argument does not hold true and thus flawed the whole conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on many unwarranted assumptions. If the author is to offer more pursuable evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), it will be possible to assess and bolster the conclusion that predators were the main reasons for the disappearance, not the reduction in rainfall.