The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the surest indicator of a great nation is represented by the overall welfare of its citizens or the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Indisputably, there are several indicators to be a great nation, including freedom of speech, freedom of expression, women empowerment, and gender equality. Nevertheless, the contributions of rulers, artists, and scientists are important to increase general welfare, leading a nation to be great. I mostly disagree with the prompt and will demonstrate the reasonings.

First of all, a ruler can contribute to burgeoning the country's economy, which will eventually increase the general welfare of the inhabitants. For example, rulers make all the decisions on how to increase the economy of the country and thus improve the people's living standards. A good leadership and decision lead to the flourishing of the country's resources and job opportunities. As a result, people will achieve a better life. Rulers also developed the infrastructure of the country.

Furthermore, scientists innovate new technologies and ideas, resulting in making people's life easier. For instance, in the past, people used to face hardship to communicate with each other; however, today within a moment, anybody can make a contact with his relatives. Additionally, traveling became more accessible and faster by replacing difficult and time-consuming journeys. Now, people can reach their destination without any hardship. Thus, these advancements made by scientists made people more confident and secure.

What's more, artists create art schools, museums, and paintings that attract tourists and eventually contribute to the nation's economy. Therefore, people get a better living. For example, Italy is known for its artistic history. Leonardo Da Vinci, an Italian polymath, created several great paintings which actually made the Italian a great nation. This is how artists' achievements can help to make a nation great.

Admittedly, a ruler or scientist can engender fiasco into a nation's life. Terrible decisions, like Adolf Hitler's conquering the world, can lead the whole nation to a catastrophe. In fact, scientists' innovations can be disastrous; for example, the atom bomb, which ravaged two provinces (Nagasaki and Hiroshima) in Japan. This situation is also caused by the erroneous steps of the then ruler of Japan.

In conclusion, although the general welfare of the people can be an indicator of a great nation, the achievements of the rulers, artists, and scientists are the most significant causes to make a nation great.