The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation presents that the Acme Publishing Company will be benefited if its all employees receive Easy Read Speed-Reading Course as other companies' employees have taken this course and received some advantages in their job fields, including speed reading, and promotion. Stated in this way, the recommendation fails to take many pivotal factors into consideration for which no transparent evidence is provided. Therefore, the argument is fallacious and remains open for debate.

First of all, the personnel director assumes that Acme's employees need the course. What if they are already skilled? Perhaps, they were recruited based on that they are highly proficient in reading and gleaning information faster. And, another assumption is that the two mentioned successful stories are adequate to judge that all other employees who took the course were successful and received promotions; as a result, the course is considered beneficial. Maybe, the success rate is considerably low if compared with the number of employees enrolled. If either of the scenarios holds true, the recommendation made is untenable.

Furthermore, another presumption is that speed-reading is the only factor to get the promotion (as stated in the recommendation that one got promoted to vice president). Apart from this quality, other aspects, such as quality of time management, honesty, cooperation, dedication to jobs, and completion of daily tasks were taken into consideration; consequently, the employee got promoted. If this is what is occurring here, the argument remains obscure.

Finally, it is assumed that Acme company is capable of paying 500 dollars for each of its employees. If the company is meager in money and it has been failing to pay employees' salaries, the assumption does not hold water. Additionally, it assumes that Spruce City is near the Acme; thus, it will not have to spend traveling costs. What if the city is significantly far from the company, which may cost it a huge amount of money. It also did not mention for how long the course will be conducted and the time needed for traveling from the company to the city. Thus, the conclusion mentioned in the original argument is invalid.

In conclusion, although the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its several unwarranted assumptions. If the personnel director answers the questions above and offers more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), it will be possible to fully assess and bolster the viability of the proposed recommendation to receive the course.