The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee - a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the abovementioned argument, it is stated that Acme publishing company should put a requirement for its employee to take part in the Easy read course, which is considered advantageous for the company. The author has come to this conclusion based on the achievements of some of the erstwhile attendance of this course. However, more evidence should be prepared before this recommendation can be properly evaluated.

First, the background and resume of former attendance of this seminar should be represented. Perhaps the interests and talents of participants on this occasion led to their outstanding performance after their graduation. For instance, a graduate who could read a 500-page report after passing the course may read a 200-page report before their attendance in this course, which is an impossible task for an average person. It is possible that the person who was promoted to the vice president of the company was supposed to promote, even before their attendance in this course. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the original argument's conclusion is significantly weakened.

Moreover, the learning process is entirely different from reading ability which is not differentiated in the argument. The personnel director of Acreme company prematurely assumes that faster you can read more information you can absorb in a single day. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps one person could read a 500-paper report in a workday but could not remember even a single page of it. Hence the efficiency of reading and assimilating information is an entirely different factor that should be investigated in detail. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Finally, even if all of the former assumptions are true, how could one guarantee that this company's investment is beneficial and the company can return its investment? It is possible that 30% of employees leave the company in the next year and it results in a significant loss for the company. Perhaps some employees have little aptitude in reading and participating in this course will not culminate in astonishing advantages for the company. If the aforementioned scenarios prove true, the author's assertion is invalid, and the company will confront a considerable loss.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the recommendation is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide additional information, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation to benefit the company.