The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the personal director of the Acme Publishing Company recommends that Acme should encourage the employees to take-up the course called “Easy Read Speed-Read” which would significantly increase their reading speed and there by increasing their productivity. However, the conclusion drawn by the personal director might hold water, it rests on several unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, to evaluate the argument thoroughly three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, is the Acme Publishing Company and other companies same? Is it possible to make generalizations on the companies based on the course? It is possible that, the working hours of the other companies is less compared to other companies there by having sufficient time for the employees to take up the course. It is also possible that the employees in other companies are very much articulate in English language and also interested to improve the language hence they are comfortable in doing the course. If any of the above scenarios is true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are the qualifications of the employees from Ache Publishing Company and other companies are same? It is possible that, the graduate who was able to read 500-page report is from one the best universities in the country making him very much likely that 500-page report is a cup of cake for him. It is also possible that, the graduate who was promoted form assistant manager to vice-president have some certain amount of skills apart form articulate in English. It is also possible that, he/she has very good political connections and he/she used those for his/her promotion. If the above scenarios is true, the argument is significantly doesn’t hold any merit.

Finally, are the employees interested in the three-week seminar and newspapers? It is possible that, during the employees have planed a vacation during those three week and they might not be able to attend that seminar. It is also possible that, many of the employees doesn’t have enough amount of time to read newspapers perhaps, the news is available for free in their smartphones. Further, 500 dollars cut from the employees may not seem that much high, but it is unlikely that everyone can afford it. It may be possible that, the 500 dollars may be life saving for a employee’s family member. If the scenarios is true, then the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, as it stands now, more evidence reading the companies policies is required to scrutinize the argument. Further, additional evidence regarding the qualifications of the employees is required before comparing them. Once enough evidence is handed and above three questions are answered by the personal director of the Ache Publishing Company, the validity of the argument would be fully evaluated.