Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education plays an important role in developing or shaping a human being into a better person in terms of knowledge, experience and self-development. Education is not necessarily only an achievement in academics, but its main purpose is for overall development of an individual. Certainly, to achieve a maximum of the education, support it also required from parents, college or university, government, friends etc. I partially agree with the statement that “Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students”. Free education should be awarded to students who are “deserving” (in perspective of government or college) but not all students. Below paragraphs describe who are “deserving” and “undeserving” candidates.

Not all human beings are good at everything; some may be good in academics, some in sports, some are good in both. Therefore, college should recognize these students and provide them free education accordingly. For instance, if a particular student is exceptionally good in academics, then he/she must be provided with equipment that are used in projects, scientific research etc. But electronic gadgets shouldn’t be given for free, there should be fee concession for them. Another instance includes, if a student is in good in sports, then the equipment that are necessary for playing those particular sports must be provided for free. However, there will be set of students in which they are good (not as good as first and second categories of students) in academics as well as in sports, for those categories of students, not everything should be given for free, but a fee reduction should be given so that they don’t feel left out.

For a student to get a good education, his/her parents should be financially strong. Increase in global inflation, corruption in government and in university has made it very difficult to get even proper schooling; colleges and universities are no way near schools. My point is not all students’ parents can afford a good college even though their children have good understanding and knowledge. For instance, if a particular student has passed an entrance exam with distinction required to get admission in that college, then, he/she must be provided free education. After giving admission in the college, the college authorities should track that student in academics; because there will be students whose main intension is to score extraordinary in entrance and get admission but not afterwards. For those students, a warning must be given and made aware of the consequences she/he might face, if he/she continues this type of behaviour.

Higher studies has become a necessary part in a students’ life, be it in job, business or anything in that matter of fact. Therefore, many universities are proving graduate/post-graduate programs or Ph.D. with set of well-organized courses. Again, free education in higher studies should be provided to students who were extraordinary in their undergraduate level. But it isn’t necessary that a student who was amazing in undergraduate would continue that same level of academics even in postgraduate or Ph.D. For instance, a student might be seeking higher studies only because of “degree” sake. To get a degree, it is very easy, as a student need only passing marks not a distinction. Hence, the respective university authorities should track the student’s performance in academics as well as in research programs. There would be possibility of students who only take admission in higher studies only because fees is not there (because they were good in undergraduate). Therefore, university need to track down these types of students and should cancel their “free education” policy.

In conclusion, the statement of the issue should be rephrased as “Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to students who are extraordinary in particular set of skills or categories (like academics and sports).” Therefore, one needs to understand that only by taking a degree doesn’t help to move further in life, but skills do. If he/she is extraordinary in particular categories, then surely governments will help.