The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above paragraph was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe, it is stated that developers want to construct a jazz music club because the nearest club is 65 miles away. They also explain that people in Monroe city are a huge fan of jazz music, and they spend money on jazz entertainment imprudently, hence, construction of jazz music club would result in surplus profit. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, what was the ticket price of annual festival that led over 100,000 people to attend? It may be possible that ticket price of the annual festival was so less that, every class (lower, middle & upper) people were able to afford it. Further, there is a possibility that the weather during the festival was very much favourable, therefore, the festival went very smooth. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, what is the crime rate of Monroe city? It may be possible that the crimes committed in Monroe city are extremely less compared to other famous cities. Further, it is possible that the cost of living in Monroe city is less compared to other cities. The cost of day-to-day things required is less. If any of the above scenarios is true, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument doesn’t hold water.

Finally, how many people listen to radio in this modern era? It is possible that the people who listen to “Jazz Nighty” is significantly less. Further, it is also possible that there is only one radio station which is available that airs the “Jazz Nighty”. Moreover, the developers mention that “Jazz Nighty” is the highest-rated radio program. It is possible that the people who love jazz music have given it high ratings. Further, it is possible that some children who have given it high ratings is because of peer pressure. If any of the above mentioned circumstances if true, then the argument is holds it validity.

In conclusion, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and provide more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to construct a new jazz music club.