The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memorandum from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants states that butter has not been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants which are situated throughout the southwestern United States and hardly people complain about this replacement. Hence, the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants believes that by expanding their restaurants’ business throughout the southeast and northeast of United States would be of huge profit. However, before converting this belief into reality, some additional information needs to be collected and scrutinized.

First piece of evidence we would need to have is: What type/kind of people visit the restaurants? What type of food they order? According to the memorandum, business manager mentions that “Only 2 percent of customers have complained about the exchange of butter with margarine”. It may be possible that the people who visit the restaurants are old aged people, who are above sixty or seventy years old; who are very much ‘compromising’ in nature. Further, it is possible that commuters who are in very much rush to their place of employments might visit the restaurants, since they are in rush, so they will not complain about the replacement. If they provide information about the type of people who visit their restaurants, and it turns out that the people who visit the restaurants are the same people mentioned in the above two scenarios, then it significantly weakens the conclusion.

Another piece of evidence we would need is that, how many people visit the restaurants? What type of food they order? It may be possible that only handful amount of people might visit the restaurant and to avoid that particular person to leave, the servers may provide additional compliment food with pancakes. Further, it is possible that “Happy Pancake House restaurants” is the only pancake restaurant available in that particular location; hence, the customer might just eat whatever he/she is served. It is also possible that the cost of butter pancakes is significantly more compared to margarine pancakes, hence they will not complain about the replacement. If either of the above scenarios hold water, then the assumption is significantly weakened.

It is slightly difficult to discuss the evidence we might need in order to evaluate the claims by business manager in memorandum, namely that customers cannot distinguish between butter and margarine. It may be possible that the customers who cannot distinguish between butter and margarine are suffering from taste related problems. Perhaps, once they become well, they can distinguish between butter and margarine. Another question which might significantly weakened the claim is that, the people situated in that particular restaurant place are actually not well versed in English language and hence they believe that butter is actually “margarine” and margarine is “butter”. If the above scenarios have merit, then the claims are significantly invalid or weakened.

In order to fully evaluate this memorandum, we would need to know the prices of butter and margarine is the southeast and northeast of United States. It is possible that the cost of margarine is significantly higher compared to butter in parts of United States. Further, it also possible that the people living in northeast and southeast are very much particular about their food. Hence, it possible that if the servers serve margarine instead of butter; the customer would not eat that and might ask the servers to exchange the food. Therefore, it is possible that the ‘cost-saving’ strategy of business manager would fail.

Therefore, we need to have more information regarding the types of people visiting the restaurants. We need to know the kind/type of food they are ordering in order to evaluate the food they eat even though it is dissimilar than they ordered. Finally, we also need to know about the price of “butter” and “margarine” in the southeast and northeast parts of United States, so that if they start the restaurant business there, then would it be profitable of not.