The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In this passage Happy pancake House has applied cost saving strategy in which butter in pan cake is replaced by its substitute margarine and they claim that the 98% of the customer are happy with the changes. However, this claim laid down by Happy pancake House is based on many unfolded assumption, and if not sub stained it will dramatically weaken the assertion made by cake house.

Firstly, argument claim that the out of 100 customer 98 customer is happy to have margarine in pancake in place of butter. It can be possible that the due to use to margarine as substitute there is potential decreases in the customer and the observation that is made on the group of data like taste of margarine and people stop to visit the store will effect the sales of Happy pancake house. So ,if the above claim is not supported by author with evidence it will the weaken this strategy to apply throughout the rest of the country.

Secondly, this strategy of using margarine is applied to only southwestern part of united states and it is assume it will resemble same effect in other part of the country. Perhaps, there can be possibilities that the other part of country like only butter in there pancake. So, therefore they given margarine in pancake will not buy and consequently reduce the sales of pancake house. Thus author must bolstered the claim made above otherwise it will significantly weaken the author cost saving strategy.

Lastly, author of the passage presume that all the customer dislike the margarine has complaint file. There can be possibilities that some of customer who dislike the margarine have complaint and major simply not file complaint. Furthermore, this will mislead the data to be evaluated for the strategy. Therefore above claim held true it will weaken the persuasiveness of the business manager to apply the strategy to other parts of the country.

In conclusion, memorandum written by business manager has many unwarranted assumption like the presuming the taste of people of the other parts of country ,not specifying the data group for the observation made in argument. If these assumption remain unfolded it will significantly hamper the business manager suggestion to apply strategy of using margarine as substitute of butter for cost saving.