In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Imagination and knowledge are the two most important things to solve the problems be it in personal or professional life. ‘Imagination’ is a thing which help a person to think in different perspectives rather than same thought process; on the other hand, ‘knowledge’ helps to choose a different path to solve a problem. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that, in certain professions and academic fields, imagination has an edge over knowledge for two reasons.

To begin with, imagination is something that every human being possesses since his/her birth. Imagination could help to change the perspective which would help to solve a problem rather than knowledge. For instance, in terms of, architecture profession having abundant knowledge doesn’t help to design the structures beautiful, but imagination does. It is true that knowledge helps an architect to design the overall structure of the building, but the fastidiousness in that building is only added by good imagination skills. In the above illustrative, it is clear that, good knowledge always helps you to get to a particular stage in your profession, but imagination is the thing which make you a “One of a Kind” in that profession.

Further, even if someone is highly qualified in a particular profession or course, it doesn’t make him/her great unless imagination is not mixed with knowledge. For example, in terms of painting profession, if a painter has enough knowledge of painting, like how to mix colours to form a new colour, how to hold a brush, what stroke of brush where to use but he/she doesn’t possess good imagination skills, then the painting which he/she draws is of no use. The painting drawn with excellent knowledge, only tells the audience about painter’s theoretical knowledge but not the imagination knowledge. With great imagination skills, the painter would be able to add a great story to the painting or some kind of feeling, that has a deep meaning to the painting. Therefore, knowledge is only useful, when one can put it to use and to become great in that particular field, he/she should definitely possess imaginative skills.

Of course, some wide range of people might argue that, with good proper and enough knowledge one can even develop imagination. However, it is not always the case, if one keeps on accumulating knowledge, then she/he might end up losing the imaginative power which is present by birth. Gathering more and more knowledge makes he/she to stick to that knowledge and doesn’t allow them to try in different perspective or approach. Hence, imagination always hold an edge above knowledge