In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

While Imagination as a crucial key of human evolution history, is definitely important for it helps explore the unknowns and establish new rules, I strongly disagree regard imagination as the most important element rather than knowledge in professions and academic fields.

With the demand of specialization, the needed depth of knowledge in certain area has been significant. Imagination itself can no longer make big contribution to professions without mastering professional knowledge. Wright brothers, for instance, was credited with creating and flying the first motor-operated aircraft, but when it comes to modern technology product, such as Boeing 747, it is impossible for a people or a group to complete the complicated design of it. In high-technology time, imagination cannot replace the role of knowledge and for most common situation, only with enough knowledge can specialized individuals have the opportunities to make their imaginations come true.

Meanwhile, deny to admit the importance of knowledge can lead to anti-intellectualism. New technology is actually changing our daily life and the refusal to knowledge is equal with rejecting the progress in intelligence. Genetic modification is a set of technologies to change genetic makeup of cells, providing stable and new function to organisms, has been proven to be safe by numerous experiments but still be rejected by some groups in society. This technology can break the boundaries of different species and create more advantages, while there are always some skeptical comments on knowledge of genetic engineering. It is true that such against will hinder the development of genetic exploration and utilization.

Some people may argue that imagination has expanded the boundaries of knowledge, for many of the most famous innovation is from imagination. The special theory of relativity, proposed by Albert Einstein is a good evidence because this theory explained the relationship between space and time and lard a solid foundation of modern Physics. Although such imagination does make great contribution to us, it is rare. Not anyone who likes to imagine is like Newton or Einstein, actually their innovation are also based on the basic knowledge of Physics and Math.

In a sum, I have to admit that imagination is useful and can push the development of technology, but knowledge always plays a more crucial role in our history and will keep being seen as a necessary role for meeting the demand of further progress in both professions and academic fields.