Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed that living in a country where the official language is different form yours would cause many troubles, in both social and pratical area. As for me, I agree with it and I think those difficulties are not easily to avoid.

When we enter a new environment, the main and the most inportant thing for us is to establish a social net with local people, but it is difficult for most of us. The unique culture always lead to unique speaking style and we need time to adapt to it. However, during this process, we are worried about if we have said anything unsuitable and sometimes we may be hurt by others' words though they are not mention to it. For example, a student may get some wrong messages such as the dissatisfition from his tutor because of the words that his tutor uses are too strict but normal in the local culture.

There are also some practical troubles we may face after moving to a new country with different language. First of all, the students may feel nervous when there is a presentation or assignment that they usually can not get a good grade for the low rate of vocabulary and the lack of confidence. Then it also occurs when we are hunting a job, the native speakers are normally the better choice for companies that don't willing to spend time and money on forst their employees' communication skills. At last, common life is also influenced by language, there can be more problems than we have thought when go to supermarket or hospital.

In conclusion, I think the problems an unfamiliar language can bring us is in a large amount.